The Beginning

The past weekend, we participated in an almost silent retreat at the Backstage Bed and Breakfast.  It was an enlightening experience.  (We would definitely go back for a longer retreat next time; we had other engagements while we were there.)

One of the most interesting observation from this retreat: a lot of what we say doesn’t not need to be said at all.

How many situations have you been in where you feel like you need to talk?

We can sit in silence and still feel connections to others.

This reminds me of this quote:

“The best kind of friend is the one you could sit on a porch swing with, never saying a word, and walk away feeling like that was the best conversation you’ve ever had. “ – Unknown

One of the topics Karen and I talked about was energy.
“Energy cannot be created or destroyed, it can only be changed from one form to another.” – Albert Einstein

I had questions about death.  Ever since my grandfather died (in 1994), I’ve always wondered about death.  Sometimes, it’s more fear than wonder.  I couldn’t think myself out of the fear – you fear what you don’t understand.  The energy in our physical bodies – our being – can not be destroyed.  It can be transferred.  This makes sense to me and it is helping me surrender the fear.

Surrender is a word that we often don’t like to use, ex. I surrender

Surrender (v.) to give up, to relinquish control over

It isn’t always negative.

Not everything in life is controllable by us.  I’ve come to learn that.

During these months of unemployment (which is not technically true either, I do have jobs, just not a full-time job), I was often frustrated: I want to apply for jobs but there aren’t any to apply to!  The lack of teaching jobs was frustrating!  However, I cannot change any of that and there is no point in worrying about something I have no control over.  I can only do the best that I can under the circumstances, which includes sustaining my spiritual health.

The Power of Now was a good guide for me.  I am slowly learning to accept the circumstances or the situations, in cases where I have no control over.

Surrender.

Leave a Reply

