Woah! Slow down!

I should be happy to be offered a full-time position. However, this is not the exact job that I want. It is a teaching job, though.

I will be giving up one of my favourite volunteer jobs – KidsAbility School. I would love to work at this school! Unfortunately, it’s the type of place that does not hire too often. Maybe I need to accept what I am given? Maybe I should look heavier on the positives? I mean, this doesn’t mean I can’t apply to other jobs and I am stuck at this job forever.

I am having many scheduling conflicts. Maybe this is a sign. A sign that says, “woah! Slow down!”

I feel like I am giving up things that I love for things that I have to do.

I also feel like I keep getting into jobs that have no future. Well, except in England. They always need maths teachers.

Often, I also feel lost. What do I really want? This is probably also a sign to tell me I should slow down. I need to keep a positive energy but sometimes that gets lost in everything.

During the consultation (on the silent retreat), we talked about meditation – just being. I am going to make an effort to meditate everyday. Set a period of time aside, probably in the morning, and just be. A trick is to focus on your breathing; when you do that there is no room to think of anything else.

Another book that I found to be useful in terms of spiritual development:
Wherever You Go There You Are – Jon Kabat-Zinn

“The power of the mind is a curious thing, because it is so powerful yet so difficult to control sometimes.” www.dailyom.com

Leave a Reply

