The King’s Speech

From: Sound on Sight

I am not very good at reviewing movies, shows or books, but you get better when you practice, right? I am going to attempt to write a what-I-thought-of-it post.

Cast

The acting in this movie was very good. When I first saw Queen Elizabeth (played by Helena Bonham Carter), I knew she looked familiar, but I couldn’t recall exactly which film(s) I saw her from. Not to be offensive, but she has this familiar “I’ve played a villain/gothy” look. I am horrible with celebrity names (and song names). I looked her up on IMDB and discovered her past:

Fight Club: Marla Singer

Harry Potter: Bellatrix Lestrange

Alice in Wonderland: The Red Queen

The King's Speech: Queen Elizabeth

I enjoyed her performance as Queen Elizabeth. In her past films (the ones that I saw/noted above), she usually played roles that were more crazy, wild, and sometimes evil. It was interesting to see her in a different role. She portrayed Elizabeth well – witty, strong, and composed (yet not too stuck-up).

After I wrote the above, I found an article that focussed on Helena’s role in the King’s Speech. One section, in particular, made me chuckle:

Though eager to take on the role in The King’s Speech, playing the Queen was almost derailed by the shooting schedule for the final Harry Potter film, in which Bonham Carter appears as the evil Bellatrix Lestrange. “I just did this on the weekend,” she says, which caused some confusion at home. “My kids would ask me, ‘Do you have to play the Queen or the witch today?'”

Source: Actress enjoys movie role portraying Queen Mum

A couple of bullets about Queen Elizabeth (Elizabeth Angela Marguerite Bowes-Lyon):

  • She was known as the “Smiling Duchess” for her consistent public expression.
  • Hitler described her as “the most dangerous woman in Europe” because of her effect on British morale.
  • She did turn down Prince Albert’s first two marriage proposals, because she was “afraid never, never again to be free to think, speak and act as I feel I really ought to”.
  • After King George VI passed away, she was styled Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother to avoid confusion because her eldest daughter became Queen Elizabeth II. She was known as the Queen Mother or Queen Mum

Source: Wikipedia

Another noteworthy performance is Geoffrey Rush’s portrayal of Lionel Logue. He brought the “unconventional”-ness out.

Geoffrey’s past performances:

Pirates of the Carribean: Captain Hector Barbossa


He was the voice of Nigel in Finding Nemo

And, of course, Colin Firth’s portrayal of King George VI was excellent. You definitely feel the frustration of wanting to get something out but can’t.

Overall, it was a good film. I would give it 9/10. It was funny, interesting, and real.

I am interested in reading the book:
The King’s Speech: How One Man Saved the British Monarchy

Leave a Reply

