Lemony Goodness

Lemon is one of my favourite smells.

Lemon Poppyseed Cake

Lemon Poppyseed Loaf

The recipe for the cake is from this website: popcorn stories.

I had some cream cheese, lemons, and ground almonds to use up.

Lemon Poppyseed Cake - after baking

The website gave pretty good instructions. I forgot to buy parchment paper and thought I could just grease the pan with oil. BIG MISTAKE. Haha, you live and learn. People suggested using shortening to grease the pan instead.

It still turned out pretty good. It’s pretty tasty – TM’s words.

Lemony Poppyseed Cake - the final product

Cakes are something that I want to do better in. I think I am slowly getting better at making fluffy cakes.

I love the lemon poppyseed loaf at Starbucks. I tried making a lemon poppyseed loaf yesterday using this recipe: Lemon Poppyseed Loaf from Canadian Living.

The recipe is pretty good. The sides do get very lemony with the syrup but maybe it will be better if I actually let it stand for 12 hours (didn’t have time for that).

Another fluffy and lemony goodness!

* I do realize poppyseed should be poppy seed but I’ve been writing it together for the longest time, and I am too lazy to go back and change it all… πŸ˜›

6 responses to “Lemony Goodness

    • We brought it to a potluck and people liked it. πŸ™‚ It’s definitely a recipe to keep – although may yield better results had I let it stand for 12 hours.

Leave a Reply

