Fruit Tartlette-Like Dessert

I decided to stay home after the morning tutor today. It was not worth it to drive in slippery roads from one end of Kitchener to the other. Decided to use some of this time updating about my food journeys.

"Fruit Tart"


This was my first time (attempting to) making tarts. This was also my first time making tarts without tart molds. Boy, was it interesting!

The recipe is adapted from 現代新素派 (西式素食) Western Vegetarian Cooking (published by Tzu-Chi 慈濟).

I wanted to try a new dessert. I looked in grocery stores and Wal-Mart + Zellers for tart molds, but didn’t find any. I’ll look in “kitchen stores” or maybe something like Bulk Barn would have some.

Unfortunately, no fresh berries right now. Can’t wait until berry season! The strawberry was sour. The blueberry was pretty tasty.

Anyway, I looked up online to see if there was a way I could make these tarts without tart molds. I found some suggestions on this forum:
http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/295687

Here is an example of my “impromptu” tart mold.

Tart Mold

Here are the tart shells. Some more “awkward” than others. It was difficult using aluminium foil for these molds (they do not “mold” the shells… it kind of just kept the shells in some sort of non-flat shape).

Dough and shell!

The Final Product!

The recipe:
Ingredient for the Shell
2 cups of all-purpose flour
3/4 cup butter
1/4 cup cold water
1/2 tsp salt

Ingredient for the Cream Filling
100 grams cream cheese
1/2 cup milk
fruits in season (I used berries because I was craving them)

Instructions on making the shell:

  1. Preheat the oven for 180 degrees Celsius or 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a bowl, cut the butter into the flour until the pieces are pea-sized.
  3. Add the salt to the cold water. Gradually add the water mixture to the flour mixture. Gather to form a ball.
  4. Roll out the dough and divided into 12 pieces. *My “impromptu tart molds” were fairly small, so I had more than 12 pieces – more like 24 pieces.
  5. Place flatten dough in tart molds.
  6. Bake for 15-18 minutes.

To make the filling:

  1. Mix cream cheese with milk. Make sure it’s mixed well.
  2. Use a pastry bag and icing tip to distribute the cream cheese mixture on the tart shells. *I used a sandwich bag. Worked well.
  3. Arrange different designs on the tarts with fruits.

It turned out to be more like shortbread with fruits and cream cheese mixture on it. It still tasted good, just not tart-like. I didn’t want to use too much aluminium foil (so that was part of the problem). Next time, definitely going to use proper tart molds.

3 responses to “Fruit Tartlette-Like Dessert

  1. These were still yummy! There’s a professional restaurant/kitchen supply place out on Victoria North somewhere, i hear.

  2. Pingback: Baked Squash « dancing in the rain·

Leave a Reply

