Difficulty with Surrendering

Over the past year, I’ve had ups and downs in terms of accepting this fact: there are just not enough teaching jobs for all of us in Canada (and there are things that I have no control over).

In my mind I realize this fact, however, a lot of times I still feel like I *should* be able to do something about it.

Why is it so hard to just accept it?

How can we overcome this resistance against accepting?

We can also cultivate this awareness in ourselves gently, by simply making surrender a daily practice. At the end of our meditation, we might bow, saying, “I surrender to this life.” This simple mantra can be repeated as necessary throughout the day, when we find ourselves metaphorically gripping the safety bar.

Letting the Curves Take You – DailyOM

One of the things that I said I wanted to do after our silent retreat last Fall was meditation. I still want to set up a time for meditation in the morning (around sunrise). My goal is to do this step by step – 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes…until 30 minutes of meditation every day.

Leave a Reply

