Drunken Chicken 醉雞

This is one of my favourite chicken dishes.

I love the smell and taste of rice wine in this dish. (I don’t drink much wine and don’t like the taste of wine. This dish makes me “tipsy” even though there is not that much alcohol in it. According to this blog post, some percentage of alocohol still remains after boiling. So, I guess that small amount still affects me.)


This recipe was adapted from 紹興冰釀醉雞.


(紅瓦厝米酒)台灣米酒

I bought the rice wine from New City Supermarket. New City carries a lot of Taiwanese products, which always makes me feel “home-ish”.

This particular Taiwanese rice wine at New City contained salt, so I omitted the step that included rubbing the chicken with salt.

Ingredients:
10 chicken thighs, bone-in, with skin
Half a bottle of the rice wine
Ginger – 6 slices
Green onions – 3 bunches, cut into 2-inch pieces
Goji berries – 1/4 cup
Jujube (紅棗) – 1/3 cup

Directions:

  1. In a pot, put chicken pieces in water and set it on stove, on high, until water boils. Drain the chicken.
  2. Add in the rest of the ingredients to the chicken, in the pot. You may need to put in more rice wine than I have, until the chicken is covered by liquid. Set it to boil. Once boiled, turn the heat off and let it cool.
  3. Transfer to a storage container. Put it in the fridge. The longer you leave it in the fridge, the more wine flavour is in the chicken. You can leave it in the fridge for up to 2 week. You can also put it in the freezer if you are planning to store it for longer.

I haven’t had much time to post lately. I have quite a few recipes to share from the last couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

