Easy Stuffed Peppers


This is an easy and delicious recipe, great way to use red and yellow pepper (the grocery store had some Ontario-grown peppers). Originally I was going to use the slow cooker version but didn’t have time to prep it during the day. Instead I used the oven. Adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients:
2 red pepper
2 yellow pepper
1 lb. ground beef, lean
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 cups cooked rice
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1/4 tsp garlic powder
a dash of parsley, oregano, and basil
2/3 large jar spaghetti sauce (I used the Classico brand)

Directions:

  1. Cook rice: I used the rice cooker to make the rice.
  2. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Brown the ground beef. Set aside.
  4. Remove the top, seeds and membrane of the peppers.
  5. Mix together tomato sauce and spices, divide the mixture in half. Mix together ground beef, 1/2 of the tomato sauce, and spices.
  6. Stuff the peppers evenly. Bake for one hour, baste with remaining sauce.

* You can substitute the ground beef with ground turkey

2 responses to “Easy Stuffed Peppers

  1. Stuffed peppers! Something I’ve always wanted to make but never got around to. I think I’d want to stuff peppers and tomatoes with rice because I always imagined it would make the rice flavourful.

    • I’ve had stuffed tomatoes before but have never made them before. Definitely adds flavour to the rice, and another way of using bell peppers (I get tired of just have stir-frys).

Leave a Reply

