Strawberry Season: Buckwheat Strawberry Muffins and Strawberry Pie

Strawberry season is here! We went to Herrles for PYO (pick-your-own) strawberries a couple of weeks ago (PYO at Herrles ends tomorrow). We picked a whole bunch of juicy, aromatic and delicious strawberries. I love the smell of strawberries! It’s one of my favourite fruits!

\

Strawberry Pie

This recipe was adapted from All Recipes: Strawberry Pie II.

Most pie recipes are too sweet for us and I try to modify them before actually making them. This time it slipped my mind. I made one significant change to this recipe: I added grapefruit juice. Next time I make this pie I will add less sugar (probably half the sugar) and add juice of one grapefruit. The grapefruit complimented the strawberries well, surprisingly.

Ingredients
90 kg of fresh strawberries
1 cup of white sugar
3 tbsp cornstarch
3/4 cup water
5 grapefruits – juiced
one 9-inch pie crust (baked) – for this I used the recipe from the Joy of Cooking
whipping cream (optional)

Directions

  1. Make the crust (Joy of Cooking) and bake for 350 F for 8-10 minutes.
  2. Arrange 1/2 of the strawberries in the pie shell.
  3. Mash the remaining strawberries with sugar in a saucepan. On medium heat, bring the strawberry-sugar mixture to boil. Add the grapefruit juice. *Next time, I would put in less sugar and less grapefruit juice.
  4. Mix the cornstarch with water. Gradually stir this into the strawberry mixture. Cook until thicken and then pour over berries.
  5. Leave it in the fridge until the pie sets.

The buckwheat strawberry muffins were from Pink of Perfection. The one thing I did change was instead of buttermilk, I used regular milk and added 1 tbsp of vinegar. I have a whole bunch of buckwheat and exploring different ways to use it.

Leave a Reply

