Fennel Salad

Friday night, we went to Verses with K-W Eats and Mark. Verses is offering a Summerlicious menu until mid-August. One of the dishes that came with the prix-fixe menu was a fennel salad.

I normally do not like licorice. It’s too strong for me, but I am ok with fennel. This salad inspired me to create a fennel salad of my own.

I was at the grocery store and I couldn’t find fennel! The only thing I found resembling fennel was something labelled anise (I knew that both had similar flavours and on its label, it said that the flavour resembled fennel). When I came home, I searched on the internet for: anise versus fennel.

According to this forum, fennel is sold as anise in America and Canada. Real anise is completely different.

I looked at a few fennel salad recipes on All Recipes and most combined fennel with citrus fruit. I decided to go with grapefruit since we had some around the house.

The timing of this post goes with Marg’s salad post.

Ingredients:
1 fennel bulb, thinly sliced (I removed the core)
1 grapefruit, skinned and cut into little pieces
3 bulbs of radish
1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
2 carrots, sliced
mixed salad greens

For the dressing:
Red wine vinegar
Olive oil
Fresh basil, chopped
Sugar, depending on your taste

Directions:
Toss the salad ingredients together. Mix the dressing ingredients together in a separate bowl or measuring cup. Add the salad dressing when serving the salad.

I am going to experiment with fennel salads more this summer. What I might add next time:

  • goat cheese
  • beets
  • nuts – walnuts, pecans, almonds, pine nuts…
  • adding a bit of orange juice in the dressing


The fennel salad from Verses.

The description from their website:

COMPOSED SALAD WITH FENNEL AND APPLE IN LIME, MUSTARD GREENS IN POMMEGRANITE VINAIGRETTE, AND SHALLOT HILL CANDY STRIPE BEETS IN MINTED BALSAMIC. TOPPED WITH GOAT CHEESE.

http://www.versesrestaurant.ca/whatsup.pdf

One response to “Fennel Salad

  1. Pingback: Our New Favourite Salad: Beet Arugula Goat Cheese Salad « dancing in the rain·

Leave a Reply

