Chocolate Cake Made with Avocado

Finalized Cake

My friend, M, and I took a cake decorating class in November with Cake Tutor. Lori is an awesome teacher, her class is so much fun!

For our final class, we had to bring a cake and decorate it. I had some avocados at home (was going to make guacamole to go with black bean taco, but there was a sudden change in our meal plan and the avocados were ripe), and used it to make a chocolate cake.

This is a good vegan recipe for chocolate cake (minus the icing).

I didn’t use the avocado buttercream because I didn’t have enough avocados, but would definitely give it a try next time.

Recipe adapted from The Purple Carrot

Ingredients:
4-1/2 cup all-purpose flour
9 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp salt
3 tsp baking powder
3 tsp baking soda
3 cups brown sugar (I used brown sugar that M gave me from Barbados)
1/2 cup coconut oil
2 avocados (~1 cup avocados) – mashed
3 cups water
3 tbsp vinegar
3 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven at 300 degrees.
  2. Mix together all dry ingredients except the sugar, in a medium bowl.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together wet ingredients with the sugar and avocados.
  4. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients, beat until the mixture is smooth.
  5. Pour the mixture into greased cake pans (I used two 9-inch pans, I also used parchment paper to line the pans, but you can use shortening.)
  6. Bake for approximately an hour, or until toothpick comes out clean. Let it cool before adding icing.

I used a lower temperature because my cakes always rise more than I want it to when I follow the temperature of the recipes (I think it has something to do with our oven; it’s hotter than it says, maybe). Because I used a lower temperature, I let the cake bake longer. It also prevents the cake from burning (since the cake doesn’t have butter or eggs in it).

This is the icing recipe that I like:
Adapted from Cake Tutor

Ingredients:
1 lb butter
1 lb shortening
500g icing sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
A pinch of salt

Directions:
Blend the butter and vanilla extract on low. Gradually add the icing sugar. Add shortening after the mixture is well-blended. Blend on medium until icing is fluffy.

I forgot to double the sugar when I doubled the original recipe to make more icing (to practise with). This turned out well, though. I am not an icing person, this particular icing is too sweet for me (the original recipe). The modified version (one above) was better, in my opinion.

4 responses to “Chocolate Cake Made with Avocado

    • The cake turned out well! Moist. Not very fluffy due to the lack of eggs, but good. You couldn’t tell that avocado was added. Definitely a recipe I will keep.

  1. Pingback: Taro Cake 芋頭蛋糕 « dancing in the rain·

  2. Pingback: Lord of the Rings: Eye of Sauron Cake « dancing in the rain·

Leave a Reply

