My Favourite Soup: Almond Butter Soup

Food Cures: Breakthrough Nutritional Prescriptions for Everything From Colds to Cancer is one of the best books ever given to me (for cooking).

I’ve used so many recipes in here and they all turned out great.

It was here that I discovered my favourite soup to make: almond butter sweet potato soup.

Adapted from Food Cures

Ingredients:
2 tbsp olive oil (sometimes I use canola)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 tsp ground ginger or you can use fresh ginger (although you would need about 8 tbsp of it)
1 tsp all spice
4 cups of chicken or vegetable broth
2 large sweet potatoes, cut into cubes
1 can (16 oz) diced tomato
1/2 cup almond butter
2 cups for edamame (shelled)
Approx 5 cups of chopped spinach

Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat and sauté the onion, garlic, and red pepper for about 5 minutes.
  2. Add ginger and all spice and cook for a couple of minutes.
  3. Then add broth, sweet potato, and diced tomato. Bring to boil. Reduce the heat and simmer until sweet potato is done (approximately 15 minutes).
  4. Ladle out a cup of soup and mix with almond butter in a bowl. Return this mixture to the pot and add in edamame and spinach. Cook for about 10 minutes. It is finished!

We found that the flavours are enhanced after storing overnight. So I normally make the soup the night before and refrigerate it. I love the flavour of almond butter. I started eating almond butter when I found out from my allergy test that I was allergic to peanuts (then later I accidentally had some peanuts and I didn’t feel so good). To be honest, I think almond butter is better than peanut butter (I know most of you disagree; someone mentioned that maybe it’s because I haven’t had really good peanut butter, which may be true). In any case, I don’t miss peanut butter, I am in love with almond butter.

This Broccoli Salad is also from Food Cures.

This site gives you some explanation of which is better: olive oil or canola oil.

2 responses to “My Favourite Soup: Almond Butter Soup

  1. That looks delicious! When you first mentioned almond butter soup, I was envisioning, well, a watery version of almond butter. This I have to try!

Leave a Reply

