My First Time Making Sicilian Meatloaf

If you are looking for a meaty dish, this is it! I don’t think I’ve cooked anything quite so meaty before. Although, this is a good recipe to make a moist meatloaf.

It all started with French Onion Soup. I bought some Gruyère cheese for my French Onion Soup (recipe: http://www.crock-pot.ca/Recipe.aspx?rid=1721). This was the only other time that I used Gruyère cheese. I wanted to try something different to use up the leftover cheese.

So, I googled “what to do with Gruyère cheese” and one of the results was “Sicilian Meatloaf”. I was intrigued.

I basically followed this recipe to make the meatloaf.

Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
bread crumbs
1 egg
Parmesan cheese, grated
Tomato paste/sauce (I used left over pizza sauce from Home-made Pizza: Great Fun! *recipe for the sauce)
Spices: oregano, basil, parsley, thyme, rosemary, marjoram
Salt and pepper, to taste
3 slices of bacon
Gruyère cheese, sliced

Directions:

In a bowl, combine ground beef, Parmesan cheese, bread crumbs, egg(s), tomato paste/sauce, spices, and salt and pepper. You can add another egg if the mixture is too dry; if it is too wet, add more bread crumbs.

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spread out the ground beef mixture to cover the entire surface.

Then place the cheese in the middle, kind of like you are making a sushi.

Again, like you are rolling up sushi, you roll up one end first, then lifting the tin foil as you roll the rest. Roll of the “meat roll” so that the seam is on the bottom.

Weave the bacon on top of the roll.

Preheat the oven at 350 degrees F. Bake for 30 minutes, until the meat is cooked. Let it sit for 5 minutes.

I didn’t have prosciutto, so I just used bacon. I didn’t want to line the inside with bacon (wouldn’t be crisp and would be too much bacon for me; although I know some friends who will argue that there’s no such thing as too much bacon).

We had the meatloaf with baked buttercup squash (from Transpire Organic). It was a very hearty meal. Leftover served us for another 3 meals.

This video was very useful in helping me cut the squash! Usually, I get my husband to cut it for me.

* Recipe for pizza sauce: tomato paste, water, Italian spices, salt and pepper, minced garlic (can be easily modified), the consistency should be thick, not too runny

Leave a Reply

