Lemon Raspberry Cake

For the last few weeks, I’ve been planning a cake for my best friend LM’s baby shower. This was one of the cakes that I contemplated using; LM’s wedding cake was lemon-raspberry.

The cake turned out well. I love the flavour and smell of lemon!

Adapted from: Lemon Raspberry Cake

Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
3 cups all-purpose flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp lemon zest
juice of 1/2 lemon
Raspberry jam (they say seedless but I found seeded ones worked well too)

Directions:

In a bowl, combine the dry ingredients. In a measuring cup, combine the milk and vanilla extract. Line an 8-inch round pan with parchment paper. Preheat oven 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Then add eggs, one at a time, and beat well. Add dry ingredients and milk mixture, alternating the two. Once combined, transfer to baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes. My oven tends to have a higher temperature than what it indicates, I lowered my temperature to about 350 degrees Fahrenheit and baked for about 20-25 minutes (until toothpick comes out clean).

Cool the cake for 10 minutes before removing from pan. Remove the cake from pan, cool upside down on a rack. *This idea was from Cooking With Dog:

Cut the cake into two layers. Spread raspberry jam between the two layers.

I decided to not put any icing on this cake because I wanted to taste the cake by itself. Also, I am not a big fan of eating icing (I know, crazy eh?). I like decorating cakes, though.

7 responses to “Lemon Raspberry Cake

  1. I think I’m going to make this cake next weekend. I have some seedless raspberry jam that I preserved last summer which will go perfectly with it.

Leave a Reply

