Fish Taco: Inspiration from Da Crack

The first time I had fish taco was in Kau’ai. This place was recommended to us by an instructor from Fathom Five.

Da Crack
Website
2827 POIPU RD.POIPU, HAWAII 96765
Open Monday through Saturday, 11:00 AM to 8:00 PM

I highly recommend this place. Best Mexican place in town (even though I hadn’t tried other places). Food was inexpensive, had huge portions, and was super tasty!

I wasn’t sure about the whole “fish taco” idea because I’d always been a traditional bean or beef burrito/taco type of person. My favourite way of having fish is sashimi. Ok, maybe not all fish. It was the special of the day, so I decided to go on a food adventure. I was pleasantly surprise by this fish taco idea. It was absolutely delicious!

The wasabi sour cream added the right amount of kick to this meal.

Food Network Magazine Great Easy Meals: 250 Fun & Fast Recipes, an awesome cookbook given to me from my good friend NB, had a recipe for fish tacos. I decided that I must try it!

I made a couple of modifications to the recipe. One main change was the addition of wasabi mayo.

I made the wasabi paste from powder. You can get this from many Asian supermarkets. Some people prefer the tube form (for convenience) and some people believe that making it from powder is better (in terms of taste and “freshness”).

To make the wasabi mayo, mix 2 tablespoons of wasabi powder with 1-1/2 tablespoons of water. Mix well. Then about 1/3 cup of mayonnaise. You can increase or decrease the amount of wasabi powder to suit your taste. We like more of a kick. You can also use the same idea to make wasabi sour cream. (I’d forgotten to buy some sour cream, so I used mayonnaise.)

Red Cabbage Coleslaw

Shred 1/4 of a red cabbage. Mix cabbage with juice of 1 lime, chopped parsley (about 1/2 cup), 2 tablespoons of honey, and 1/2 cup of mayonnaise. Of course, salt and pepper to taste.

This went really well with the rest of the flavours in the fish taco.

To make the fish:
Ingredients
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon of chili powder
salt and pepper
1 pound of fish (the original recipe called for halibut, but they didn’t have it at the grocery store, so I used cod and tilapia – they worked well), cut into 2 by 1/2 inch pieces

Directions:
Mix flour, chili powder, salt and pepper in a bowl. Add fish to flour mixture and coat fish well. Fry fish in batches until golden (a couple of minutes). Drain the oil from the fried fish. Season with salt.

What to add to your fish taco:

  • avocado – sliced
  • salsa
  • sliced lime wedge on the side

Tortilla + a layer of wasabi mayo, fish, red cabbage coleslaw, avocado, and salsa = one delicious meal!

2 responses to “Fish Taco: Inspiration from Da Crack

  1. I like the sound of your fish taco with the wasabi sour cream. I just did a post on fish tacos with an avocado aioli…I’ll be trying your way next.

Leave a Reply

