Spring = Birth

I have been very inactive on WordPress for the last few weeks. With teaching during the day and tutoring at night, I hardly had time for myself. I love what I do but there is a point where it becomes too much and I need time to sleep and take care of me. So, I’ve set a goal for myself for the next couple of months to increase “me time”.

After teaching adults for a year or two, I am finding that I am not enjoying it as much. It feels like adults play more mind games and are too complicated for me. I don’t like to play all these “games” and play in this system. I love working with children and observing how their minds work. Of course, there are challenges teaching children, but they are less “sneaky” in a way.

Anyway, Spring is here and the weather is getting nicer, so I will have more chance to work off this “stress” because I can ride my bike more. Also, nice weather = more varieties of local vegetables and fruits = more interesting recipes to share with you all!

This year, the arrival of Spring brings the arrival of many babies. Many friends or family friends received their bundles of joy recently. Since February, it has gradually become very baby-centred around here.

Here is a toy octopus I crochet for a friend’s baby. The pattern is here. I had fun adding the different colours to the octopus. My husband thought the octopus was a bit disturbing at first, but after adding the eyes, it became cute.


This is a blanket that I crocheted for my best friend LM. It’s for her first child and it’s sitting nicely on their rocking chair in their nursery. Here is the pattern. Since we didn’t know the sex of the baby and the baby was expected at the end of March/beginning of April, I chose some nature colours.

The next set of pictures are of the baby shower cake for LM. A good friend of mine, MM, worked on the cake with me. I couldn’t have done such a beautiful job without her help. It was a fun project and I enjoyed every minute of the cake-making process. Our inspirations came from various cakes on the internet.

Ducky

The above was our concept map.

For the cake, we made a simple sponge cake with a layer of raspberry frosting in the middle. The recipe for the frosting came from The Divvies Bakery Cookbook: No Nuts. No Eggs. No Dairy. Just Delicious!. This is an awesome baking recipe book for vegans.

The cake itself was not very sweet. The fondant compensated for that. I am not a fan of the taste of fondant, but it’s just so easy to decorate with, especially for this kind of cake. I much prefer buttercream icing and piping the designs.

For one of my overseas friends, I knitted this dress for his daughter. It’s not really for newborns, more for age 1+. The pattern is here. I find most of my patterns on Ravelry; there are so many patterns there and the search engine is very easy to use.

I had to test it out on someone, and 2ookie (the bear) became my model.

I thought that the dress itself was a bit plain, so I added a flower. Flower pattern was based on this.

4 responses to “Spring = Birth

    • Thanks Yuen! Knitting and crocheting are such good ways to de-stress for me. I am finding cake decorating fun but I don’t like to eat that much cake so I have to find excuses to make them.

    • I always feel weird thinking about myself – feels selfish, but I am learning that it’s ok to feel selfish sometimes. Spring is a good time to start fresh. Maybe that’s why we all do Spring cleaning too! 🙂 Thanks for your comment, Karen!

Leave a Reply

