Cooking with Mom: Tofu with Chives 韭菜炒豆乾

The past few weeks had been very busy with my parents visiting. It was a very good visit – we visited many local places, ate lots, and talked lots.

It kind of feels weird without them here.

This week my in-laws are visiting – more visiting local places, more eating, and more catching up!

Last week, I talked to my parents and my mom asked me all these questions about “Western food”. From work, she has exposed herself to different kinds of food. It was really cute because she would describe me different kinds of food that was served at her work and make me guess what they were so that I could spell out the names to her. I got to teach her about food for a change.

One of the things that my mom and I made during the visit was 韭菜炒豆乾 (韭菜 = chives; 炒 = stir fry; 豆乾 = dried tofu). It’s an easy dish to make for supper and goes well with rice. You may also have a dish of stir fry vegetables and/or soup with the meal.

Ingredients:
1 package of “dried tofu” – you can find them in most Chinese supermarkets, ours came in a package of 8
1 clove of garlic (you can mince or just chop it)
1 bunch of chives 韭菜, chopped into 1-inch pieces
Salt, to taste
A pinch of mushroom seasoning

Directions:
Slice the tofu into long strips. Set aside.

Heat oil in wok or pan under medium-high heat. Fry the garlic to let out the flavour. Add in the tofu strips, chives, and salt and fry them until the tofu strips are a bit brown on the inner edges. Before turning off the stove, add some mushroom seasoning and stir well. It’s ready to be served.

If you want more flavouring, you could add a bit of soy sauce or chilli pepper.

5 responses to “Cooking with Mom: Tofu with Chives 韭菜炒豆乾

  1. We don’t get many Asian products at the markets where I shop but I’m going to try to find the mushroom seasoning. I think it would add good flavor to many dishes.

  2. Pingback: Cooking with Mom: A 菜 « dancing in the rain·

  3. Pingback: Cooking with Mom: Beef Noodle Soup 媽媽的牛肉麵 « dancing in the rain·

Leave a Reply

