Garlic Scape Pesto

My husband and I signed up for the summer CSA with Transpire Organic. We got the ‘I Know a Little Something About Eating Veggies’ Share and it’s great! We eat salad almost every night and I am exposed to vegetables that I don’t normally use.

I’ve never used garlic scapes before. They are the curly top of a garlic plant. One of the most popular use for them (after searching online) is garlic scape pesto.

Ingredients:
1/3 cup of pine nuts and pistachios *
1/3 cup parmesan cheese
1/3 cup olive oil
10-12 garlic scapes, chopped
basil **
1-2 tbsp of lemon juice

* I had some leftover pine nuts from before (these things are expensive!) and pistachios, so I mixed them. You can also use walnuts, sunflower seeds, almonds, and pecans. Some people also suggest chickpeas, edamame, and pumpkin seeds.

** I added a bit of basil for flavour. If I had more I would have added more.

Directions:
Put all ingredients except olive oil in the food processor. Process until the mixture is smooth. While the food processor is on low, add the olive oil in a constant stream. Stop occasionally to scrape down the sides.

We served it with spaghetti and spinach.

I recently bought a new food processor. Prior to this, I was using the Magic Bullet that my parents gave us; however, it stopped processing food well. It was still good to make smoothies but did not have the power to make hummus or pesto.

The KitchenAid 7-cup food processor was on sale and had good reviews. Those two factors convinced me to buy it. It was a great purchase!

It was a good meal for a hot summer day. Spinach pesto pasta with organic greens and strawberry-banana smoothie.

What are your favourite ways of using garlic scape?
What are your favourite recipes using a food processor?

4 responses to “Garlic Scape Pesto

  1. We made garlic scape pesto the other day, then I froze the leftover pesto into an ice cube tray and popped the frozen cubes into a bag. Now I just need to unfreeze the next time I want pesto šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

