Beer Braised Chicken with Rutabaga & Potato & Kohlrabi Fries

In our CSA share for last week and the week before that, we received a rutabaga, some red potatoes, and kohlrabi.

I’d never cooked with kohlrabi before but I heard it tasted like broccoli. In Chinese it’s called 苤藍 (pie3 lan2) also known as 大頭菜 (da4 tou2 cai4). I’ve heard my mom refer to 大頭菜 (da4 tou2 cai4) before. Literal translation: big head vegetable. I think in the Taiwan, kohlrabi is usually pickled or used in soup. Next time I will try using it the way my mom cooks it.

This summer has been so busy for some reason, so I wanted a simple meal where I can just pop stuff on the stove and/or in the oven. Sit back and read or work while dinner is cooking.

Beer Braised Chicken
Adapted from Food Network Magazine Great Easy Meals: 250 Fun & Fast Recipes
6 skin-on, bone-in chicken thigh
1 bottle of beer (I used Sleeman’s Honey Brown)
1 medium onion
2 tablespoon of mustard
2 tablespoon of brown sugar
Thyme
Parsley
All-purpose flour
Salt & Pepper
2 tablespoon of oil
3 stalks of celery *optional, I had some to use up and went well with the chicken

  1. Coat chicken thighs in flour, salt and pepper. Shake off excess and set thighs aside. Heat oil over medium-high heat and cook thighs until golden.
  2. Add beer, onions, mustard, sugar, thyme, and celery (*see above). Make sure chicken is fully submerged (I added a bit of water). Simmer until chicken is cooked (15-30 minutes).

I like the hint of sweetness in this recipe. I am not a big beer fan, but the flavour of beer in this recipe is not too strong and is quite pleasant.

Rutabaga & Potato & Kohlrabi Fries

I wanted to do something different with these root vegetables. Normally I bake at 350 degrees Celsius with oil & salt & pepper for 40 minutes, then coat with vinegar & honey & rosemary. This time I cut the veggies into strips, tossed them with oil & chilli pepper & smoked paprika & salt & pepper & parsley, then baked at 350 degrees Celsius for approximately 40 minutes (turning once or twice in between).

Kohlrabi & Beet Greens

It’s in my culture to not waste anything and try to use up everything. The greens on the kohlrabi and beets looked good, so I saved them. They were chopped and stir-fried with garlic. Seasoned with salt and mushroom seasoning.

8 responses to “Beer Braised Chicken with Rutabaga & Potato & Kohlrabi Fries

  1. Ah! I am glad to learn more about different ways to cook kohlrabi! I’ve been slicing mine raw and eating it like a cold appetizer. Kohlrabi rench fries sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

