Beets & Beans & Cucumber Quinoa Salad

This was inspired by A Dash of Zest’s Roasted Beets & Potatoes with Quinoa and the hot summer weather. We are starting to get a lot of vegetables from Transpire Organic and I love it! Every week I am trying something different.

In this recipe, the cucumber, beets and beans were from Transpire Organic.

Ingredients
Juice of 1 lime
1 tsp of honey or in my case, a squeeze of honey (also dependent on your taste)
Dried chilli pepper (a dash)
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil
1 tablespoon of olive oil
Approx 1 lb of beets, boiled and de-skinned, diced
1 medium cucumber, diced
Approx 1/2 cup of green & purple beans, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 cup of quinoa, rinsed
2 cups of water

Directions

Boil the 2 cups of water with salt and oil. Add the quinoa and simmer for approximately 15 minutes. Flake with fork when it is done, transfer to a bowl to cool off.

I boiled the beans for about 10-15 minutes. Remove from heat and rinse with cold water.

In the mean time, whisk together the lime juice, oils, honey, chilli pepper, salt and pepper. Set aside.

Combine all ingredients into the bowl of quinoa. Great for a hot summer day, which we have been getting a lot of.

What are your favourite ways of using beans, beets, cucumbers, or quinoa?

I would also like to share: 10 Health Benefits of Cucumbers.

4 responses to “Beets & Beans & Cucumber Quinoa Salad

  1. It was really really yummy!

    (Even though I don’t generally enjoy beets – my childhood featured the occasional boiled beet dinner, which kind of ruined them for me.)

    • Thanks! 🙂 For this particular one I didn’t add any chard, instead replaced with beans. I see what you mean. I guess I am the opposite, beets are part of Taiwanese cooking. So I was introduced to them recently.

Leave a Reply

