Tea Chicken Experiment #4: 茶葉雞

I haven’t given up on the journey to find a good way to make tea chicken. This version was the most similar to the tea chicken dish my husband and I had in 2008. Everytime we drink oolong tea, I save the tea leaves, dry them, and store them in the fridge until I have enough saved up to make tea chicken.

The tea flavour was fairly strong in this version. My husband said it was probably the closest one to the “real thing”.

Ingredients:
Chicken thighs – 10
Rice wine
Soy sauce *approximately half a cup
1 cup Oolong tea leaves (I saved tea leaves after drinking them as tea)
Canola oil
Water

* Makes enough for 5-6 meals

I soaked half of the tea leaves in oil overnight, hoping to create some sort of tea oil. I think you can actually buy tea oil (not sure where in Canada, but definitely in Taiwan).

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.

In an oven safe skillet, heat up tea oil (with the tea leaves). Cook the chicken thighs until golden brown on both sides. Add soy sauce and a splash of rice wine (if need be, add water so that the liquid just covers the chicken thighs). Make sure the liquid is evenly mixed. Top with the remaining tea leaves. Cook in the oven for 20-25 minutes.

Serve with rice and vegetables.

This was very easy to make, the tea flavour was stronger, mostly because I avoided adding other spices so that the tea flavour would stand out.

3 responses to “Tea Chicken Experiment #4: 茶葉雞

    • I hope you do get to experiment with tea and cooking. I am not very familiar with it but maybe we can share ideas. 🙂 Tea egg is one of my favourite ways of having eggs (I think in this case, most people use black tea).

      • Actually, now that I think about it, tea eggs are something I have done before. Somewhere, I have an interesting recipe for shrimp with green tea leaves… I must try and dig it out.

Leave a Reply

