Lord of the Rings: Eye of Sauron Cake

My friend M organized a Lord of the Rings marathon and I made a cake for that special occasion. I had so much fun decorating this cake!

The cake itself was not my best (I was trying some new recipes). Inside was yellow “sponge” cake with chocolate mousse filling.

These were my inspirations for the decoration:

I used this recipe for the icing. It was a mistake starting the decorating process at 10 PM because I did not realize how much icing colours I needed to make a dark red colour. I was not going to go out in the middle of the night looking for more icing colours. In the end, I managed to create satisfactory colours and they went well together for this purpose.

Now I have to figure out what to do with the left over icing. Make Lord of the Rings cupcakes for the release of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey?

I also realized that writing the Tengwar inscription at midnight was not the greatest idea, especially since I had never practised before and I was often in bed by 10:30 PM or 11 PM (the ability to concentrate drastically decreases from that time). Wikipedia was very helpful.

Overall, I am happy with the end result. It looked cooler than I expected, to be honest. I was unsure how the colours would work out. I really like how the texture adds movement to the cake.

I am super excited about the Hobbit movie! Ever since the marathon, I had the theme song of Lord of the Rings playing over and over again in my head. I am happy to have it looping until the Hobbit comes out.

Enjoy this:

3 responses to “Lord of the Rings: Eye of Sauron Cake

  1. Pingback: Last Cake of 2012 « dancing in the rain·

Leave a Reply

