Roasted Chicken Stuffed With Beets

DSCN0311

This weekend, we had some time to take care of house stuff (i.e. raking leaves, cleaning, and doing more basement renovation-related things) and I was able to play in my kitchen. I filled the house with smell of cookies, roasted chicken, and homemade spaghetti sauce.

Ever since I was introduced to beets, I became very interested in exploring different ways of using beets (for example, beet-zza). My husband laughs at my beet adventures. My favourite, so far, is pickled beets.

DSCN0316

I wondered about roasted chicken stuffed with beets – in particular, if the beets will pick up the flavour of the chicken. (And secretly, I also was thinking maybe the beets will turn the chicken purple/red!)

I used the Juicy Roasted Chicken recipe from AllRecipes.com. Two things I changed from this recipe: (1) I roasted the chicken for about two hours instead of the stated time, as suggested by a reviewer; and (2) I rubbed margarine and herbs underneath the skin of the chicken in addition to seasoning the exterior of the chicken. Oh, and I cut up half of my mother-in-law’s giant beet and stuffed the diced beet pieces in the cavity.

DSCN0317

Using dripping from the pan, flour, water, salt, and pepper, I made some gravy for the chicken. We served the chicken with roasted potatoes and coleslaw.

DSCN0318

I was disappointed because the beets didn’t really absorb the chicken flavour (and my chicken was not totally purplish-red, hehe). The gravy did have a nice purple/red tone to it. Nonetheless, it was a delicious chicken dinner.

4 responses to “Roasted Chicken Stuffed With Beets

  1. I think you are were very clever to try stuffing the chicken with beets. I’m sure it was very good but too bad it didn’t turn out like you were expecting.

Leave a Reply

