Jambalaya Transformation: Gumbo!

Recently, I treated myself by purchasing The Two Sister’s Cookbook from Dana Shortt Gourmet (55 Erb E, Waterloo, ON N2J 4K8) after visiting my dentist. There are so many recipes in this book that I want to try. I love how the book is organized by “meals”.

My first adventure was Serbian cuisine. At my previous job, I taught a couple of students from Serbia and they often told me about food from their culture. I made Serbian meat rolls with the roasted red pepper sauce for appetizer from Two Sisters, and we had Serbian jambalaya as the main dish.

I reduced the recipe for the meat rolls since there were only two of us. For some odd reason, I forgot to reduce the recipe for the jambalaya. I ended up with a week’s worth of jambalaya. As good as it was, I was beginning to get sick of it.

After some thoughts, I decided to transform the leftover jambalaya into gumbo with some okra, shrimp, mushroom, and chicken broth. I also added more Cajun spices (paprikia, garlic powder, black pepper, onion powder, cayenne pepper, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flakes). The result turned out really well! (You can also add sausages. The jambalaya was made with chicken.)

DSCN0032

2 responses to “Jambalaya Transformation: Gumbo!

  1. I don’t know why this post didn’t show up in my reader. I would never have thought of a dish like jambalaya being popular in Serbia. Turning your leftovers into gumbo was perfect.

Leave a Reply

