Thinking Positively

It has been 6 weeks since I switched jobs and the decision is a good one. Despite the uncertainties and sometimes last-minute-ness of the new job, I am loving it. I have had some really good days.

Despite the fact that there have been some good days, I find myself occasionally still battling my brain to make worries go away (especially when I am tired).

I am normally really good at thinking positively about other people; however, I am so much harder on myself and the brain seems to gravitate towards negatives rather than positives (I think many of us have similar experiences). The negative parts of the day tend to be blown out of proportion, and the positive parts of the day seem to be hidden in the back corner of the mind. I have been practising and making a conscious effort to focus on the present and defeating that inner gremlin.

Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now is always a book that helps me with this.

I ask myself three questions:

  • What is it that I am worried about? (Sometimes this is unclear and is just general anxiety.)
  • Can I do anything about it now?
  • Will thinking about it help make it better?

If the answer is no for the last two questions, I stop worrying about it (for a bit). Although, sometimes I may need to repeat this process later on when my mind has forgotten to not worry. It seems that with practice, my mind is improving.

The other book that has helped me is Rick Carson’s Taming Your Gremlin.

And of course, having a purring kitty (or two) in my lap always helps.

IMG-20131103-00784

What are some of your strategies to keep positive or stop worrying?

Leave a Reply

