Thermos Cooking – Carrot Mushroom Barley Soup

IMG_8065

My parents got me the Thermos Shuttlechef set around Christmas. I love using it to cook soup, especially in warmer weather (much better than the slow cooker).

I know normally people don’t want soup in the summer, but Taiwanese (and other East Asian) people have soup noodle or soup all year round.

I used it to make a Carrot Mushroom Barley Soup inspired from Food Network Magazine: Great Easy Meals.

Ingredients:

  • Tomato juice – one of those big cans
  • Mushrooms (~10)
  • 2 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 2 tablespoon of unsalted butter
  • 1 cup of instant barley
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk of celery with leaves, diced
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dried rosemary
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 medium carrots, diced
  • Chard – I had about 1 cup from my garden

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil and 2 tablespoon of butter in the inner pot. Add the mushroom and barley, cook for about 5 minutes on low/medium heat.
  2. Add onion, celery, rosemary, salt, and pepper. Cook for about 2 minutes. Then add the carrots to cook for about 2 minutes.
  3. Add the tomato juice (and depending on how much liquid you have, add a bit of water), and bring mixture to a boil on medium heat. Then add the chard and make sure the soup is well mixed. Put the inner pot in the Thermos cooker. Leave it for a few hours. I think I left mine for a bit too long (~5 hours), most of the liquid was absorbed. I added some water later, which worked out ok.

IMG_8069

This page explains how it works. Definitely something I can use when bring soup, stew, chili, or curry to potlucks.

2 responses to “Thermos Cooking – Carrot Mushroom Barley Soup

  1. I’m like you in that I like soup any time of the year…it is not weather dependent. I like barley soup and yours sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

