Vegetable of Last Week: Fiddleheads

This was my first time working with fiddleheads. Maybe my first time having fiddleheads (I may have had something similar when visiting Taiwan).

IMG_0240

I decided to do something relatively simple so that I can experience the flavour of fiddleheads.

Ingredients

  • Garlic (2-3 cloves)
  • Butter
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp of lemon zest
  • Fiddleheads
  • ~8 Shrimps
  • Mushrooms (roughly 4-5)
  • A dash of red pepper flakes

Directions

  1. On medium-high heat, cook the shrimp in butter until just turned orange on both sides. Set aside on a dish.
  2. Fry garlic in butter for several seconds. Add the fiddleheads, mushrooms, and red pepper flakes, cook for about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the shrimp, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Cook for a couple of minutes more.

IMG_0239

We had this with rice. But it would go very well with pasta (with some Parmesan cheese).

Fiddleheads, to me, have this grassy flavour. I like the crunchy texture (like most vegetables I stir fry; I cannot stand overcooked stir fry vegetables). It is not my favourite vegetable (water spinach is still my all time favourite) but it is something I would consider buying again and experimenting with.

IMG_0246

What is your favourite fiddleheads recipe?

One response to “Vegetable of Last Week: Fiddleheads

  1. The first time I had fiddleheads (roasted, finished with some lemon juice), I couldn’t believe how delicious this weird vegetable was. I’ve been eating my fair share of asparagus this spring, but I should probably go pick up some fiddleheads too!

Leave a Reply

